Pixe’s Treasure Chest Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Turkey and Black Bean Chili Recipe

Posted by pixe1 on February 2, 2009

Happy Monday Everyone!

Since winter is upon us, and my neck of the woods is potentially looking at some more snow, I thought I’d share my recipe for Turkey and Black Bean Chili!  It’s a great way to warm up, and healthy, too!  I hope you enjoy!  Feel free to tweak it to suit your tastes!  Oh!  and this is great to make in big batches, it freezes really well!!

Turkey and Black Bean Chili

  • 1 TBS. olive oil
  • 1 LB. ground turkey (I use the one lowest in fat)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 TBS chili powder  (I also add some extra chipotle chili powder)
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano leaves, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 jar (16 oz. ) chunky salsa
  • 1 TBS. sugar
  • 1 can (15 oz.) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 bag frozen corn (I use bird’s eye steam in the bag)
  • 1 small can tomato paste  (6 oz)

1.  Heat the oil in a 4-qt saucepan over medium high heat.  Add the turkey, onion, chili powder, cumin, oregano, black pepper, and garlic.  cook until turkey is well browned, strirring frequently to break up meat.

2. Add tomato paste and stir to blend.

3.  Stir the broth, salsa, sugar, beans, and corn into the saucepan.  Heat to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low.  cover and cook for 30 minutes.  Stir the chili occasionally while cooking.  Serves 6.

I top it with a little fat free sour cream and low fat shredded cheddar cheese, and make some garlic bread to go with it!!  Buon appetito!!!!

22 Responses to “Turkey and Black Bean Chili Recipe”

  1. mshalston said

    I’m salivating…it’s chili season, you know. 🙂

  2. Oh yummy, I will have to try this!!!

  3. This sounds yummy!

  4. Aloquin said

    I wish I had these ingredients… now I’m really hungry!

    http://www.aloquin.blogspot.com

  5. jozie said

    Sounds great. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Nancy said

    Sounds good. If I could sneak the turkey in without my hub seeing it, that is. He tolerates turkey maybe once a year.

  7. krystyna81 said

    sounds yummy! I always break out the crock-pot when it gets chilly!!!

  8. I’m definitely printing this one. My family loves chili(except my 11 yo son – he doesn’t like much of anything!).

    Have a beady good week! 🙂

  9. Rose said

    Oh YUM! Okay now I am really hungry lol! That sounds truly fantastic!

  10. Jeanette said

    I love seeing new recipes! Thanks for sharing!
    Jeanette
    splendidthings.etsy.com

  11. Mmmmmm… DELICIOUS!!!!! LOVE Chili recipes. Thanks for sharing. 😉

  12. Audrey said

    My family loves anything turkey and that recipe sounds yummy!! Will definitely have to write it down.

  13. Rebecca said

    Mmm. This sounds amazing!

  14. michelle said

    this sounds like a delicious recipe. Unfortunately we are in the middle of summer here and what a stifling summer it has been! have been living on grapes!! Thanks for sharing.

  15. Sharon said

    It’s tough to find chili in Germany so, my fiancee and I have been looking for a good receipe to try. He’s going to be very excited about this!

  16. Angie said

    Looks yummy!

  17. Julie said

    Sounds yummy! It’s cold here on the Gulf Coast, too – frost this morning and a hard freeze forcast for tonight. We aren’t used to this!!!

  18. oich said

    hi!
    looks delicious!

    I will try it!

    🙂

  19. ez said

    mmmmmmmm, chili!!!!!!!!!

  20. Elizabeth said

    Delicious!!! thank you for sharing this recipe!

  21. helena said

    thanks for sharing, i really have to try this recipe!!!xxxx i love my chilli!

Leave a Reply

 
