Pixe’s Treasure Chest Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pixe’s Picks!!

Posted by pixe1 on January 14, 2009

Welcome to this week’s Pixe’s Picks!!  This is where I feature the REALLY COOL shops of Etsy!!  My victims this week are pinkparchmentsoaps and MVincent!  Read about them, then go give their shops  some love!!

 

 Pink Grapefruit Soap

 Pinkparchmentsoaps

Pinkparchmentsoaps sells beautiful handmade soaps.  Trish, the soapmaker, tells me she has been creating soap for about 5-6 years now!  When I asked how she got her start in soapmaking, this is what she had to say:    That’s actually a funny story.   Several years ago we were on vacation in North Carolina and stopped in a
small soap shop.  They made the most beautiful soap we had ever seen.   We also thought, oh these will make wonderful
gifts for both my husbands mother and my mother – both of whom are incredibly difficult to buy for!   With both mothers day
and birthdays right around the corner, we stocked up.  Once we returned to Michigan, I happened to get a flyer from a local college and they were offering soap making classes. I took the class, and voila we were hooked.

Inquiring minds want to know:  Why Etsy?       In the fall of 2007 we were at a craft show, and the crafter next to us was Midnight Creations.   She already had a shop on Etsy,  and was so enthusiastic about her Etsy shop,  and the entire Etsy community.   When we got home,  we went to Etsy,  browsed around and decided that Etsy was for us!

 Strawberry Cheesecake Soap

 Trish’s favorite soap is the Pink Grapefruit Soap, pictured above.  She loves it because “it’s a lot of fun to make and just smells divine”!!  It’s very pretty, isn’t it?!!

Pixes Pick:  I love this Strawberry Cheesecake Soap!   I think it is such a unique soap, and I bet it smells as yummy as it looks!!

 

Wonderland Bracelet

MVincent

MVincent is selling gorgeous handcrafted jewelry along with her crocheted items.   Mannie, the owner of MVincent says she has been making jewelry on and off for about 3 years now, and crocheting for about 2.    This is how Mannie says she got her start in making jewelry:  I picked up jewelry making on a whim, really.  I started making my own jewelry,  and then for family and friends.   They really encouraged me to open shop, and I did (:

And the reason she picked Etsy for her store is she always loves to buy handcrafted when possible.  She found Etsy through a Google search for something else, explored and fell in love with  the Etsy community!!  

Sun Goddess EarringsPixe’s Pick!  I love the Sun Goddess Earrings, being somewhat of a goddess myself!  LOL  Seriously…The orange beads have a beautiful pink iridescence to them, and they glow  like the sun!  The headpins are even hand made!!

I hope you enjoyed this weeks Pixe’s Picks!!!  Wishing you all a safe and peaceful week!  Till next week……

8 Responses to “Pixe’s Picks!!”

  1. Mannie said

    THANK YOU!!! (:

  2. Great picks!

  3. thegiftchick said

    That strawberry cheesecake soap is SO adorable. I will def. be checking out the pinkparchmentsoaps store! Thanks for the tip.

  4. Natasha said

    You have the best, most upbeat personality..I love reading about your picks…by the way the sun goddess earrings?? I heart them …I need them to feed my inner goddess too! Seriously all your picks are fab…I’m off to shower them in love…great blog

  5. Sandi said

    Great picks!

  6. TheresaJ said

    Great picks! Thanks for sharing… 🙂

  7. Reader said

    Good work! Thank you very much!
    I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?
    Of course, I will add backlink?

    Regards, Reader

  8. UndonnovA said

    Your site displays incorrectly in Opera, but content excellent! Thank you for your wise words =)

Leave a Reply

 
