Pixe’s Treasure Chest Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pixe’s Picks

Posted by pixe1 on January 7, 2009

Carnelian Leaves Necklace

Carnelian Leaves Necklace

 

Welcome to Pixe’s Picks…the place I show off the REALLY COOL Etsy shops!!

This week I am featuring Joanna’s Photography and Mufi!!

Joanna’s Photography:  

 
Joanna doesn’t  remember the first time she  snapped her first photo, but “in a form, I have been taking photographs as my passion and for satisfaction- it has been about 4 years”.

This is how Joanna got her start in photography:  “Photography was rather mysterious to me for the longest time. I have used my parents’ camera, but in very limited way. Only after I got my first digital camera, very simple point and shoot model, I started discovering how much satisfaction and pleasure I am getting from photographic nature.
Nature still is my main photographic subject.
Now I have moved to a camera with much more features and settings, which allows me to capture exactly what I want and how I want to present it on the finished photograph”.

Joanna set up shop on Etsy because she has had good experiences as a buyer;  they always had great things for sale, and decided this was a great place to start!

Big Big World

Big Big World

Her favorite item is the “Big Big World, 5 x7″ print, taken in the Outer Banks NC,   “because the layout of this photograph, it’s composition, presents the force of the nature- dark sky, big storm coming, against small human, very weak, against the strength of the surrounding environment”.                                      

Waiting

Waiting

This is my Pixe Pick:  I was hardpressed to pick a favorite….All the photos are well composed, and I’m partial to macro photography.  I picked “Waiting“, for it’s gracefullness, and I could just imagine the flower bud popping open at  precisely the right moment!   This is a really cool shop with a lot of great photography!  Give Joanna some love at  JoannasPhotography!!

 

Mufi:

When I asked how Phyllis got started in her craft she told me:  If you start with my work in textiles, I’ve been crafting / designing since my early 20’s.  I got started making jewelry by buying some intriguing beads and then learning how to work with them by speaking with jewelers and looking up techniques on the Internet. I have a bachelors and masters degrees in art and previously had a career as a textile artist. That background gave me the visual confidence to dive into a new medium. I’ve shown my work nationally and been awarded a National Endowment for the Arts grant in Crafts.   Congratulations on your award, that is certainly a high honor!!!

She chose Etsy because she  was interested to learn about Internet marketing and Etsy offered an easy way to have a working website. Etsy offers a turn-key shop that is easy to learn to use and there’s a very active forum with support from other sellers. The first time she went to the forum with a question, she had 5 answers in as many minutes. That kind of support is invaluable when you’re venturing into new territory
.
Phyllis said she was unable to chose a favorite item from her shop…there are just too many favorites!

Pixe’s Pick:  This one was easy…I love Carnelian!  I love the colors, textures and shapes of the Carnelian Leaves Necklace!   This is way cool !    (See the top of the post, WordPress is giving me a hard time today…won’t let me post pic where I want)!   

 
100% of the profits from Phyllis’  stores support her husband Bill Lawhorn’s work with orphans in Liberia, West Africa
For more information about the cause Phyliss  supports, read this:  http://personaltreasures.blogspot.com/2008/12/gem-of-cause-jewelry-benefitting.html     
 
Be a gem and to give Mufi some love and support a great cause at the same time!                                      
9 Responses to “Pixe’s Picks”

  1. Wow, what a beautiful shop she has!

  2. kim* said

    its always good to see featured artists

  3. Gisele said

    Thanks for your comments on my blog..Nice Site..I probaly missed it- do you have a Etsy mini or link to Etsy on your site?

  4. pixe1 said

    giselle, I have 3 links, at least. I wasn’t able to get an Etsy mini to load on here. Look above technorati button and under blog roll.

  5. Jacqueline said

    Lovely featured! Love her work and her shop!

  6. Renee said

    It was very interesting to read those two interviews. Nicely done.

  7. TheresaJ said

    Great interviews, two great shops on Etsy.

  8. Joanna said

    Thank you so much for featuring my store!
    And I appreciate all nice comments.

  9. […] article about my photography posted a little bit over a week ago. You can still access it here → Pixe’s Picks. Pixe’s Treasure Chest is also an Etsy store offering beautiful, nature inspired jewelry. […]

Leave a Reply

 
